RFC-000-035: Use CEF Funds to Participate in Citadel Knighting Round

Name: Use CEF Funds to Participate in Citadel Knighting Round
Author: Cl0kwork
Contributors: gdalf and Mitch from the Citadel Team did complete a peer review for accuracy
Category: Community Ecosystem Fund (CEF) allocation
Scope: This RFC proposes to use some of the RenBTC in the Community Ecosystem Fund (CEF) to further participate in the CitadelDAO Knighting round. It is seeking feedback from the community on if this is a good idea, and if so, specifically which percentage of our CEF would be appropriate to contribute.

1. Synopsis

Hey Community,

To be clear, this post is pretty much a copy pasta from Spadaboom’s post in the Frax community. I’ve simply tailored it to the Ren Community (or RenDAO). I’ve been a Darknode Operator since the early days and would generally consider myself a “Bitcoin in DeFi Maxi” hence the alignment with Ren, Badger, and Citadel. OK let’s get into it.

This post is pretty long, so I’ll summarize the main points for those who want a simple read:

• CitadelDAO is a treasury DAO aiming to be the largest community owned yield-generating Bitcoin position in the world (yes, Luna Foundation is not the only one aiming to create a multi-billion-dollar community-owned BTC position :blush:)
  • Imagine Olympus DAO’s bonding mechanics crossed with Curve’s tokenomics with the aim of creating sustainable yield-generating BTC positions across DeFi
  • They intend to integrate RenJS, as well as leverage RenBTC for natice BTC funding/withdrawals
  • The launch event is coming up and Ren (both our users and Community Ecosystem Fund-CEF) is 1 of 8 protocols whitelisted to participate. There are no VCs or early investors
  • RenDAO will already receive a portion of the 5% vlCTDL allocated for partners (based on the number of voting participants) but I am proposing we use some of our CEF Funds to further participate in the funding round